Real Love Moves

My beloved is mine, and I am his. Song of Solomon 2:16

Today many people all over the world celebrate Valentine’s day. I personally really dislike the day because I feel like if you have a loved one, Valentine’s day should be everyday. Maybe I’m naive but shouldn’t the love that you have for a spouse be expressed on a daily basis? This got me thinking about my relationship with Christ. I wonder how many days do I come before Him and really tell Him that He is the most beloved to me. I wonder if my prayers are often superficial and have no depth. I wonder if  my relationship with Christ is more on a receptive end then giving end. This struck me as the most difficult question to answer because you know how some couples complain that their relationship is single sided and one partner feels like they give so much and get nothing in return. I feel like I am the receiver that does not reciprocate with my relationship with Christ. I guess the point I am trying to make is I need to reevaluate my relationship with Christ and look within myself to see what am I doing for my Beloved. The point is, if Christ is my beloved, I won’t stop trying to please Him. I won’t stop looking for ways to put a smile on His face.

The words of St Paul  in Cor 5:14-15 are very deep when he says, For the love of Christ compels us, because we judge thus: that if One died for all, then all died; and He died for all, that those who live should live no longer for themselves, but for Him who died for them and rose again.

I love this short meditation by St John Chrysostom on the above verse, “All this, in fact, blessed Paul had in mind, that fervent lover of Christ, who like a winged bird traversed the whole world… . See his uprightness, see the extraordinary degree of his virtue, see his fervent love. The love of Christ, he says, constrains us, that is, urges, impels, coerces us. Then, wishing to explain what had been said by him, he says, “convinced of this, that if one person [died] indeed for all, then all have died.  He did die for all so that the living, might live no longer for themselves but for the one who died and rose for them. Do you see how appropriate it was for him to say, The love of Christ constrains us? He is saying, you see, if he died for the sake of us all, he died for the purpose that we the living might live no longer for ourselves but for him who died and rose for us.

So maybe this Valentine’s day I will say Christ because you did this all for me I want to give my all for you. Not because I could ever earn the price that you paid for me but because true love, is always working!

Bray, G. L. 1999. 1-2 Corinthians. Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture NT 7. InterVarsity Press: Downers Grove, Ill.
2 thoughts on “Real Love Moves

  1. if Christ is my beloved, I won’t stop trying to please Him. I won’t stop looking for ways to put a smile on His face.

Leave a Reply

