Words!

Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing. Proverbs 12:18

The tongue that brings healing is a tree of life, but a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit. Proverbs 15:4

For by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned Matt 12:37

I recently came across a video of a story of a young singer named Chris Medina that really struck a cord with me. Fans of ‘American Idol’ know that periodically, a contestant brings more than a good voice to the show — they bring an emotional backstory that touches both the judges and the viewers.

The 26-year-old aspiring singer from Illinois was engaged to marry Juliana Ramos, his longtime girlfriend, in December 2009. But two months before they were supposed to walk down the aisle, Juliana was involved in a major car accident. Tragically, the crash left her partially paralyzed and caused traumatic brain injuries. Medina continued on with her, not only as her fiancée but now as her primary caretaker.

I wonder what Medina said or promised to Juliana that has him so dedicated her? I wonder what you and I often say to people? What we say often has a lasting impact on others and most of all ourselves. So what is the meaning of your words? What do they mean to you? Are they just empty statements that come out of your mouth or are they truly meaningful? This video is about a guy who truly loved his fiancée and made a promise to be with her for better or worse. He told her he loved her and in a difficult situation, he stuck by his word. I wonder how many of us say things and often don’t mean them. A thought that came to my mind while watching this video is how often do I tell God I love Him and act as if the statement means nothing? (please see https://cestafan.wordpress.com/2009/01/21/do-you-really-love-him/) Another thought I had is “man, that guy must have really meant what he said.” It made me think, how often do I say something to someone and without truly understanding the impact of the words that I am saying? I guess the point I am trying to illustrate is this; your words have a lot of meaning and importance. To Chris Medina whatever he said to Juliana was not just a foolish superficial accumulation of words it meant something so true and dear to him.

Again, what do your words mean to you and what do they mean to others? Well, there is this incredibly stupid and untrue, very common statement. You’ve probably heard it. If you know it, go ahead and help me finish the sentence. People say, “Sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me”. How many of you agree that’s really stupid and untrue? I can’t believe that we train kids that over and over and over again, that words can never hurt us. Sticks and stones, they can bruise our bones maybe for days or weeks, but words can bruise our soul for years or even decades. On the other hand though,
words cannot only hurt us but
words can build us,
words can lift us,
words can inspire us,
words can transform us.
They can hurt us or they can help us because
words are so powerful.

For example, life-giving words, words that encourage and create; “I believe in you!” “You are so special!” “I’m like massively proud of you, you are the best of the best!” “You are so gifted!”

Words! How will you use yours? Do you choose life giving words to encourage someone daily or bruise someone with your words? I bet Juliana wakes up every morning reminded of Chris’ words on the day he proposed to her and it makes a world of a difference. Why not make the world of a difference in someones life today? You decide.

3 thoughts on “Words!

  1. Good point Jeremy. I think it needs to be a hybrid of the two. Its like the old expression says “if you dont have anything good to say, dont say anything at all”. I wish I could learn to do that its just really tough. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

